Artists from Naxos of America Family of Distributed Labels Honored with 17 Nominations for the 52nd Grammy Awards

Bernstein’s MASS performed by Marin Alsop and the Baltimore SO & Ravel’s L’Enfant Et Les Sortilèges performed by Alastair Willis and the Nashville SO, both Naxos recordings, earn nominations for Best Classical Album

Two Naxos recordings received Best Classical Album nominations: Marin Alsop’s widely-acclaimed recording of Leonard Bernstein’s MASS performed by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra featuring Jubilant Sykes, the Morgan State University Choir and the Peabody Children’s Chorus (Steven Epstein, producer; Richard King, Engineer); and Alastair Willis’s recording of Ravel’s L’Enfant Et Les Sortilèges performed by the Nashville Symphony Orchestra featuring Julie Boulianne, the Nashville Symphony Chorus, the Chicago Symphony Chorus and the Chattanooga Boys Choir (Blanton Alspaugh, producer; Mark Donahue & John Hill, engineers).

Conductor Antoni Wit and the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra received a Best Orchestral Performance nomination for their Naxos recording of Szymanowski’s Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4. Antoni Wit also earned a Best Choral Performance nomination for his Naxos recording of Penderecki’s Utrenja with the Warsaw Boys’ Choir and the Warsaw Philharmonic Choir & Orchestra. Dennis Keene and the Voices of Ascension were also nominated in the Best Choral Performance category for Song of the Stars, their Naxos recording featuring the works of Granados, Casals & Blancafort.

Renowned violinist Philippe Quint was honored with a nomination for Best Instrumental Soloist Performance with Orchestra for his Naxos recording of Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35, and Ursula Oppens earned a nomination for Best Instrumental Performance without Orchestra for her album Oppens Plays Carter from Chicago-based Cedille Records.

The ENSO Quartet received a nomination for Best Chamber Music Performance for their Naxos recording of Ginastera’s Complete String Quartets.

Two Opus Arte DVD productions earned nominations for Best Opera Recording: Messiaen’s Saint François D’Assise (Ingo Metzmacher, conductor; Armand Arapian, Hubert Delamboye, Rod Gilfry, Henk Neven, Tom Randle & Camilla Tilling; Karin Elzendoorn, producer; The Hague Philharmonic; Chorus Of De Nederlandse Opera) and Tan Dun’s Marco Polo (Tan Dun, conductor; Stephen Bryant, Sarah Castle, Zhang Jun, Nancy Allen Lundy, Stephen Richardson & Charles Workman; Ferenc van Damme, producer; Netherlands Chamber Orchestra; Cappella Amsterdam).

Best Classical Contemporary Composition nominations went to Roberto Sierra for his work Missa Latina ‘Pro Pace’ (Naxos) and to Jennifer Higdon for her Percussion Concerto (London Philharmonic Orchestra).

Award-winning sound-pioneers from 2L earn two Best Surround Sound Album nominations: for the album Flute Mystery (Morten Lindberg & Hans Peter L’Orange, surround mix engineers; Morten Lindberg, surround mastering engineer; Morten Lindberg, surround producer; performed by Emily Beynon, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Fred Johnny Berg, Catherine Beynon & the Philharmonia Orchestra) and for the album Treble & Bass (Morten Lindberg & Hans Peter L’Orange, surround mix engineers; Morten Lindberg, surround mastering engineer; Morten Lindberg, surround producer; performed by Daniel Reuss, Trondheim Symfoniorkester, Mariann Thorsen & Göran Sjölin).

Blanton Alspaugh, Steven Epstein and David Frost each earned Producer of the Year, Classical nominations for work including Naxos recordings. Blanton Alspaugh as producer of Menotti’s Amahl And The Night Visitors (Alastair Willis, Chicago Symphony Chorus, Nashville Symphony Chorus & Orchestra); Ravel’s L’Enfant Et Les Sortilèges (Alastair Willis, Chicago Symphony Chorus, Chattanooga Boys Choir, Nashville Symphony Chorus & Orchestra); Schubert’s Death And The Maiden (JoAnn Falletta & Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra); Roberto Sierra’s Missa Latina ‘Pro Pace’ (Andreas Delfs, Nathaniel Webster, Heidi Grant Murphy, Milwaukee Symphony Chorus & Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra). Steven Epstein as producer of Bernstein’s MASS (Marin Alsop, Jubilant Sykes, Morgan State University Choir, Peabody Children’s Chorus & Baltimore Symphony Orchestra); Corigliano’s A Dylan Thomas Trilogy (Leonard Slatkin, George Mabry, Sir Thomas Allen, Nashville Symphony Chorus & Orchestra); Fauré’s Piano Quintets (Fine Arts Quartet & Cristina Oritz). David Frost as producer of Korngold’s Violin Concerto; Schauspiel Overture; Much Ado About Nothing (Philippe Quint, Carlos Miguel Prieto & Orquesta Sinfonica de Mineria).

The 52nd GRAMMY® Award Winners will be announced on January 31, 2010.